Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-09-12 - 4:16 p.m.

'"we're both such magnificent liars"'

JeffVanPatten called me the other night as I was frantically trying to register at 1iota to get tickets to see Nada Surf in New York. And I'm cursing at my computer and clicking away like a madwoman when he says, 'This is why I love calling you. Because I can live vicariously.'

Which, admittedly, took me aback a little bit.

I suppose, though, what it all comes down to is that I'm impulsive. And I have a pretty general and overwhelming disregard for plan-making and the follow-through. At least on a large scale. I'm not planning for a future or setting down ground work. Maybe that's a symptom of my feeling like I don't have one. A future. So I'm just living. Taking it all in stride. And right now I guess I'm striding pretty quickly and without consequence.

Which means that if I check my email to find a happy little notice that in less than two weeks I could be in the pit seeing Nada Surf on national television ... I'm grabbing it. Taking it. Robbing it. Whatever I have to do. Nevermind that I have no way to get to New York. That will come later. It's a detail. And I'm not really concerned.

Meanwhile, I am getting ready to head out the door for my roadtrip into Dallas for this 'Real World' thing. Which has me overwhelmed with an odd little thrill set deep in my stomach. When I think about it, the whole upcoming fiasco, the thrill surges. And it's just insane.

So I'm off. Off and running again.

previous - profile - me - rings - links - gbook - notes - next
all written material � jordorange 2003-2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!