Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-05-27 - 5:43 a.m.

'federal holidays are a sharp pain in my ass'

I realized today as I sat on the cold floor of Albuquerque International Airport that I must indeed be a grown up. Because for the first time in my life I was picking someone up at the airport. I pulled into short-term parking. I pulled my little ticket from the machine's mouth. I hauled ass up to the terminal. And I waited. And I did it all by myself. And then I got to thinking, like when did I learn how to do that? It boggles the mind. It's like trying to remember how I learned how to fry an egg or read or match my own socks. I've been doing them all so long that I forgot what it felt like to not know how. Now I guess I can add one more adult-like thing to my list of things I just know how to do. I know how to pick someone up at the airport.

Coupled with the airport extravaganza, the rest of my day was equally strange. For instance, I spent a great deal of the afternoon watching some fantastic documentary about Ron Jeremy while packing the rest of my house in odd sized boxes.

Then I picked up my dad at the airport and headed straight out to Sauce where we had several drinks and talked about the good life. Or rather life in general. Whether it�s good or not, I guess is still a draw. And I realized that it�s times like those that I really like my dad. I like him as the human being I guess I probably always knew he was under all that post-divorce hostility. We talked a lot. And he told me some things I really have no right knowing. And things I really never wanted to know. Things about my family. Things about my mom. And it really sucks when someone tells you something about someone who isn�t around anymore. Because how do you verify any of it. How do you tell if it�s true. But then, maybe I don�t want verification. Maybe I just want to pretend I never heard any of it. That way maybe I can pretend that it never really happened.

previous - profile - me - rings - links - gbook - notes - next
all written material � jordorange 2003-2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!