Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-29 - 5:09 p.m.

'who knew you could that?'

Penny and I had what can only be described as an intense conversation last night. It was all about the way that our lives have become far too intertwined. And the ways in which we've become too codependent. And the way I know that she's mad at me for leaving, for not being strong enough to stay. About how we both know we're fucked up and the ways that we let each other stay that way.

Halfway through it she said, 'It feels like we're breaking up.' And it felt that way to me too. So maybe we were. And who knew you could do that? Who knew it could be so easy?

Sometimes we just have to cut our losses. And know that what is, just is. And when it ends, it just ends. Penny's my best friend because when my mom died and I called her, she called me right back and said, 'If you need me I'll come.' And I knew that she meant it. She's my best friend because when I needed an out, she said, 'Come here. Start over.' She's my best friend because of the way it used to feel to be around her. It was like stepping into Oz. Everything was alive. And free. And young. And so was I.

And that's what a real friend does. She turns the gray into blue. She turns white into orange. And black into purple.

It's hard to remember all that now. The way that felt. Because lately it's all blackness. And the wrong words. And misteps. It's all dull knives in my heart. Because she's right, she can't help me unless I help myself. Little does she understand that I don't want her to. I don't want her to fix me, I just want her to be my friend. Accept me. Broken parts and all. Because that's what friends do.

It's a mess.

It's all run it's course, though. And I'm afraid that if we don't step back from each other, we'll end up hating each other. The way I've eventually ended up hating everyone who made me promises and then turned away. The way I ended up hating all my best friends in the end. I'm a hateful person.

Today feels oddly hopeful, though. Like the beginning born from an end. Like it's the kind of day to clean house and make lists. And write letters. And it's time to start packing. Spring cleaning. It's just that time.

previous - profile - me - rings - links - gbook - notes - next
all written material � jordorange 2003-2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!